Thursday, March 24, 2016

Hounded by Kevin Hearne

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I Read: Hounded by Kevin Hearne (Book 1 of the Iron Druid Chronicles)

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: Atticus O'Sullivan, the last of the Druids, finds his peaceful life in Arizona shattered by the arrival of an angry Celtic god. He will stop at nothing to take an ancient magical sword from Atticus's possession.  A looming battle forces Atticus to call upon some unlikely allies for help. The battle pulls Atticus back into the spotlight of others' forces he was avoiding or running from for hundreds of years.

What I Thought: I didn’t know what to expect with this series.  Two of my friends had read it a while back so I thought I would give it a try.  If you’re a fan of urban contemporary fantasy fiction like I am, then this book is for you. The writing is similar to Jim Butcher with a little more emphasis on the history and mythological aspects of our world.  Everything involving the character or provided for the reader in the story is done in a way that is easy to understand.  This is done through concepts that explain how he interacts with others, fights, and uses his own talents.

You can tell by reading the books there is real effort by the author to pull both fact and fiction to make the story realistic and alive.  Hounded and all of the proceeding books in Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles are packed with wit and action.  Every action taken by Atticus entwines him further and further with his enemies and a past he was trying to avoid. Atticus’s actions and the consequences of his efforts add complexity to the story and his later interactions.

My favorite character in the series so far in Atticus’s dog and trusty sidekick, Oberon. He gives a new meaning to the word man’s best friend.

Readalikes: Six-Gun Tarot by R.S. Belcher

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: