Thursday, April 21, 2016

Witchling by Yasmine Galenorn

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I Read: Witchling by Yasmine Galenorn

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: The D'Artigo sisters are half-human and half-Faerie operatives from the Otherworld Intelligence Agency. But their mixed-blood heritage short-circuits their talents at all the wrong times.  One sister, Delilah, is a shapeshifter who can turn into a tabby cat. Another, Menolly, is a vampire who's still trying to get the hang of being undead.  And the last sister is Camille--a witch.  Except her magic is as unpredictable as the weather, which her enemies soon find out the hard way...

What I Thought: Being a fan almost exclusively of high fantasy or urban fantasy contemporary fiction, when I first got introduced to this series I was skeptical whether I would like it at all. As with all series of books, the first always has a lot of character and worldbuilding involved to set the tone and pace. Galenorn does a great job of fleshing out each sister’s personality, starting with Camille in the first book. She’s sexy and flirtatious but has a sharp edge to her personality and relationships. This is an urban contemporary fiction but has strong romantic tones and distinctly different character types. One of the best themes included with each character is the inclusion of flaws and quirks that make them unique or stand out. It contrasts well with the three sisters because they are inherently flawed from the start due to their dual natures.

The action is fast-paced and hits hard on the emotional side of the conflict in which Camille and her sisters become involved. If you like mystery or thriller themed books, Witchling has elements of each as the story progresses. However, the actual description of the fights can lack at times or be very brief with more emphasis on the end result and the condition of the characters afterwards.

If you like a story with strong ties between the characters you will certainly enjoy the interaction as the first book unfolds and in later books of the “Otherworld Series”. As I mentioned before there are strong romantic scenes in this book and later on in the series. If you are looking for a light romance or Christian romance this is not the book for you. There are adult themes throughout and the content and language matches these themes. There are also themes not commonly talked about or viewed as normal in the series related to relationships and archetypes in families; sometimes it can be hard to like the characters if you don’t have an open mind.

I really enjoy these books as a contrast to other series I read that either have strong negative tones or dark content. Whichling and the following books, even if they can be emotional at times, leave you refreshed or excited to read the next book in the series. I recommend this series for adult readers.

Readalikes: The Six-Gun Tarot by R.S. Belcher

Or look this book up on NoveList!

1 comment:

  1. Include, introduction on, logged learn over 60 relationship from of are members consideration examine providers - process million?!
    Ease of Free Cam Sex can also be usually larger, with such sites.
    Free Cam sex site Cam sex With me

    ReplyDelete