Friday, March 11, 2016

All the Winters After by Seré Prince Halverson

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Laurie Boone

What I Read: All the Winters After by Seré Prince Halverson

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: Kache used to be a musician with big dreams, but upon the death of his parents and brother, his grief drove him to give up everything and move to Texas. At the urging of his aunt Snag, Kache returns to Alaska after ten years away. His life takes a fateful turn when he goes out to check on his family’s old homestead and finds that a strange Russian woman has been living there, totally isolated, for ten years. Her name is Nadia, and she has her own painful realities to deal with.

What I Thought: This was a relaxing, diverting story of redemptive love between two quirky, solitary people. Right away I fell into easy step with the interesting supporting cast, and the Alaskan landscape was a character in itself, too.

Readalikes: John Straley’s books, like Cold Storage for quirky people in Alaska, and Annie Proulx’s book The Shipping News for the leisurely pace and the remote Newfoundland fishing village, its antics and atmosphere.

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: