Thursday, March 3, 2016

Healthy at 100 by John Robbins

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: José Beltrán

What I Read: Healthy at 100: The Scientifically Proven Secrets of the World's Healthiest and Long-Lived Peoples by John Robbins

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: Old age should be the crown of a successful life. Yet people are getting sicker sooner and are remaining chronically sick. We prolong our dying and struggle with pain, loneliness, disability and depression? How can we promote our own healthy aging? What choices can we make to avoid bitterness and increase our health span? This book says yes we can live to a ripe old age without losing our physical, mental health, and vigor. From Abkhazia in the Caucasus south of Russia, where age is beauty, and Vilcabamba in the Andes of South America, where laughter is the greatest medicine, the Hunza in Central Asia, where dance is ageless, and finally the southern Japanese islands of Okinawa, the Japanese Hawaii.

What I Thought: This book is about finding the Fountain of Youth. The recommended practices in this book help us regenerate and rejuvenate instead of degenerate. In this book, Robbins (son of owner of Baskin-Robbins) shows us how our diet and exercise are critical to health and healing. Robbins explains how body and mind can interact to help us. Socializing is key to our purpose and joie de vivre! Our spirit finds the fountain of youth in the quality of love, wisdom, and courage we have lived. Robbins writes that the two most important dates in our lives are the day we are born and the day we know why we were born. Youth is a state of mind not a time of life!

Readalikes: The Hundred-Year Lie by Randall Fitzgerald; Counterclockwise by Lauren Kessler

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: