Thursday, June 18, 2015

The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Becky Brendel

What I Read: The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith


Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: Vampire Henry Sturges is searching for renewed purpose in the wake of his friend Abraham Lincoln's untimely death. The story of Henry’s past is brought to life by the urging of the author to recount the days after Abe’s end. To do so, Henry talks about his past and recounts his journey to the present. It is an extensive journey to be sure. Henry’s past follows most of the major events that take place in our world and helped to shape society to what it is today. His adventure leads use through time from before America was a country, to Reconstruction-era America and back east to Henry’s first home, Europe. Along the way he meets a venerable group of minds and enemies from his past. Expansive in scope and serious in execution, The Last American Vampire is sure to appeal to the passionate readers who made Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter a runaway success.

What I Thought: I am a HUGE history buff and enjoy reading about the past and past events. I like the fact that Seth Grahame-Smith took his time to dig into the smallest of details throughout history for his novel. I am always happy to read a twist on actual events that really happened but with a fictitious character. Seth has a way with stringing together events to make the preposterous possible and even believable for his audience. If you’re not a fan of history, and even if you are, this book if for you. Seth’s books do not focus on the flashy world of vampires and teenage romance, it has raw emotions throughout and real examples of human virtue and defilement throughout history.

Even if Henry isn’t a part of our actual history, the events discussed in the book are based on historic events. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to think about the past or has fun dissecting a book cover to cover. I would not recommend this to very young readers due to some of the content presented and the acts that really did occur in the novel throughout our history.

Readalikes: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth-Grahame-Smith | The Strain by Guillermo del Toro | The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: