Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Sherri Levek

What I ReadGabi, A Girl In Pieces by Isabel Quintero

Find It @YCLD:

What It's About: This is a YA (Young Adult) novel that follows a Latina high school student during her Senior year.  Gabi, the main character, chronicles her life at home and school with humor and grace.  She deals with anxieties about weight, applying to colleges, two best friends – one who is pregnant and one who has decided to come out of the closet -- a father addicted to meth, an overprotective mother and overly religious aunt, and an emotional younger brother, all while becoming a poet and falling in love.

What I Thought: Although the subjects discussed in this YA novel are serious, Gabi’s interpretations are insightfully humorous.  She is a smart, honest, and determined young woman who loves her family and friends, food, and poetry.  Her descriptions of Mexican food will have you searching out the nearest taco truck! There are also poems throughout the book, both by Gabi and well-known poets.  I love this book – I think many teenagers will bond with Gabi and her friends as they experience their last year of high school. And, if literary prizes influence your reading choices, Gabi, A Girl In Pieces is the winner of the 2015 William C. Morris YA Debut Award.  I would recommend this novel to older teens, as there are sexual references and some language concerns. 

Readalikes: How it Went Down by Kekla Magoon, I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, and Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall

Or look this book up on NoveList!