Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Steelheart by Bryan Sanderson

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Lauren Regenhardt

What I ReadSteelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Find It @YCLD: Here! 

What It's About:   Not every villain has a nemesis.  Ten years ago, Calamity struck, a blast in the sky that gave ordinary humans extraordinary abilities.  As the Epics rise to power, the cities decline and people are suffering.  David Charleston witnessed High Epic Steelheart kill his father.  He also saw him bleed.  As David vows to avenge his father’s murder he finds himself caught him in a tangled web of plots to overthrow Newcago’s Epic leadership alongside the revolutionary group The Reckoners.  In this comic-book in novel form, the action never stops as David sets out to kill the invincible Steelheart.

What I Thought: As the teen manager, it’s important to stay up to date with their interests and obsessions.  After realizing that many of my reluctant readers-the ones that refuse to open a book unless it’s got DC or Marvel on the front-couldn’t stop talking about this book, I knew I had to see what it was all about.  What was so awesome about this book that got these teens to sit down and not just read it but share it with their friends?  I mean it when I say it’s a comic book in novel form.  It’s full of action and as the villains take over you find yourself fearing them alongside the protagonists.  You find yourself falling in love with David or with his love interest.  It’s an easy read that keeps you hooked. Fans of Marvel or DC or anyone who enjoys superheroes but not the comic book format will love this book.

Readalikes: V Is For Villain by Peter Moore, another novelized comic book themed around villains.

Or look this book up on NoveList!