Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I ReadDarkfever by Karen Marie Moning

Find It @YCLD:
 Here! 

What It's About: MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary 21st century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae…. (synopsis from Amazon.com)

What I Thought: Disclaimer: Mature Adult – Now that, that is out of the way. This is an interesting book and series. Yes, I read the entire set. I also started to read Karen’s next series in the MacKayla Lane saga with Iced, Burned, and soon to be Flayed. Anyways, back on subject. This book went very dark very fast. The first book in a series is always about character building and creating a pretty picture for the reader. This book does not follow that pattern at all. Sure you follow Mac on her journey, but everything just falls apart around her. The author does a good job of setting up the character and her change while only hinting at her past during the story.

I know, I know, you all hate flashbacks. So do I. But low and behold Karen Marie Moning is very good at selecting and using memory to fuel her stories and characters. Now I wouldn’t consider this a kid or teen friendly book. There are elements within that help pull the reader into the story and the actions of the character, but they aren’t for every age. Read the book; have a good time trying to figure out who the bad guys and good guys or girls are in the story. I assure you will be on the edge of your chair, bed, or wherever you like to read as you follow MacKayla through this Alice in Wonderland type story.

Readalikes: First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

Or look this book up on NoveList!


0 comments: