Monday, December 15, 2014

World Trigger vol. 1 by Daisuke Ashihara

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Becky Brendel

What I Read: World Trigger, vol. 1 by Daisuke Ashihara

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: Osamu lives in a town periodically attacked by monsters from a parallel dimension called "Neighbors". Life continues mostly as normal, however, thanks to an organization called "Border" that protects the city and fights the Neighbors. Osamu himself is a Border trainee, but even he couldn't expect that the transfer student in his class was a humanoid Neighbor...or that this Neighbor wants to be his friend.

What I Thought: Manga tend to be over-the-top, so World Trigger excels by being refreshingly matter-of-fact. Key plot points unfold organically instead of in dramatic monologues, and the characters are all just quirky enough to keep from being one-note stereotypes - especially Yuma the deadpan, violent, yet naive and humorous Neighbor whose reactions to human folly are amusingly inhuman. The clean, basic art matches the story well; Ashihara has a particular knack for using panel progression to tell jokes, making use of silence and restraint where other manga bombard the reader. Recommended for those new to manga and curious - or for the jaded reader who wants a reminder of why they fell in love with this "genre" in the first place.

Readalikes: Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama, for more super-popular manga about humanity fighting back against inhuman monsters; Blue Exorcist by Kazue Kato, for more intelligently-written action manga with a focus on character development.

Or look this book up on NoveList!