Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Sherri Levek

What I ReadJust Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

Find It @YCLD:

 What It's About:  Lawyer Bryan Stevenson's account of his work with the law project, The Equal Justice Initiative he created with Eva Ansley, on behalf of inmates on death row, serving life sentences, unlawfully incarcerated, and juvenile prisoners. An eye-opening account of the injustices many incarcerated individuals face, including those who have been wrongfully convicted. Stevenson shares many of their stories, focusing on Walter McMillian, who seeks Stevenson's help in proving his innocence.

What I Thought:  The United States has the largest prison population in the world.  Statistics show a disproportionate number of prisoners are non-white and/or low-income citizens.  Bryan Stevenson’s work with the Equal Justice Initiative has exposed many of the unfair and unjust prosecutions that have ended in life-sentences and the death penalty.  The stories that are told within this book are heart-wrenching and often too horrifying to be believable, but that is why they are so important for the public to read.  I believe if you read only one book this year, Just Mercy should be at the top of your list. 

Readalikes: The True American:  Murder and Mercy in Texas by Anand Giridharadas; The Divide:  American Injustice in the Age of the Wealth Gap by Matt Taibbi

 Or look this book up on NoveList!