Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I ReadRed Rising by Pierce Brown

Find It @YCLD: Here! 

What It's About: The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity's last hope. Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it's all a lie. That Mars has been habitable - and inhabited - for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought. Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield - and Darrow isn't the only student with an agenda.

What I Thought: Did you like the hunger games trilogy? Were you looking for something similar but more adult in content? Red Rising is just that. With a gritty main character, plenty of plot development and lots of action, you get just that. The novel follows Darrow along on this terrifying journey from being the lowest of the low as a Red to the highest honor of a Gold, describing his triumphs and the pitfalls he finds along the way. The story is not for the faint of heart, but it is edgy and pushes you to follow along. I know this is short, I’m giving you that much more time to go and pick the book up to read it yourself.

Readalikes: Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (Although this is a bit grittier).

Or look this book up on NoveList!