Thursday, May 12, 2016

Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Laurie Boone

What I Read: Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: An unnamed young man is interviewing the vampire Louis de Pointe du Lac. The vampire recounts the story of his life before, during and after he was made a vampire by Lestat de Lioncourt in 1791 New Orleans.

What I Thought: I wanted to re-read this before reading the latest book in Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles, Prince Lestat. This May 2016 marks the 40th anniversary of the publication of Interview with the Vampire. I’m so glad I read it again because now I’m psyched to read the remaining four leading up to Prince Lestat. I have missed this kind of complex and gothic, yet luxurious style of horror writing. The vampires of the fiction sub-genre of paranormal romance have got nothing on Louis, Lestat, and Armand as they grapple with the nature of good and evil.

Readalikes: Luckily there are five books in the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. Also add Let Me In by John Ajvide Lindqvist, which has been made into two movies and a London stage production.

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: