Thursday, April 14, 2016

Verbal Judo by George J. Thompson, Ph. D & Jerry B. Jenkins

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: José Beltrán

What I Read: Verbal Judo: The Gentle Art of Persuasion by George J. Thompson, Ph.D & Jerry B. Jenkins

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: The power of the word! Effective communication is so much more than what you say. The messenger is more likely to be killed for the way the message is delivered than for the actual message. The tone of your voice, your pace, pitch and body language, your sincerity, and your caring matters. Angry words spoken in haste cause wounds that fester and may never heal. You can avoid becoming part of the problem! Judo means the gentle way. Do not resist, keep calm, and redirect the negative energy. The purpose of Verbal Judo (martial art of mind and mouth) is to help you build and maintain your relationships with your family, friends and strangers.

What I Thought: This book demonstrates how to be a communications warrior. It shows how to redirect negative energy in order to keep you calm by deflecting verbal abuse through giving empathy. “Look good, sound good, or no good.” This book is most definitely not about humiliating and putting people down.

Readalikes: Tongue Fu! How to Deflect, Disarm, and Defuse Any Verbal Conflict. The Gentle Art of Verbal Self-Defense at Work

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: