Thursday, February 11, 2016

All the Old Knives by Olen Steinhauer

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: L. Boone

What I ReadAll the Old Knives by Olen Steinhauer

Find It @YCLD: Here! 

What It's About: After years of separation, Henry and Celia meet up for dinner at a cozy restaurant in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Six years earlier, while both were CIA agents in Vienna, a horrible terrorist hijacking occurred on their watch. It could have been prevented if an agent onboard the plane had not been compromised by some unknown source inside the U.S. Embassy. Six years later, Henry is ostensibly conducting an internal investigation, and casts suspicion on Celia.

What I Thought:  The audiobook narrator, Ari Fliakos, has the perfect voice for this Hitchcockian story of old lovers and spies who seem to be having a friendly dinner to discuss an old case that ended tragically. The book’s author, Olen Steinhauer, is known for his excellent espionage thrillers and this one may be his best so far. This is amazing, considering most of the book consists of Celia and Henry discussing the events leading up to and surrounding the hijacking. Through their rich, cerebral dialogue, the story becomes unbearably suspenseful.  It leads to a thrilling, twisted ending right before the dessert is served…

Readalikes: Everything by Olen Steinhauer and The Dinner by Herman Koch.

Or look this book up on NoveList!


0 comments: