Thursday, January 28, 2016

Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Sherri Levek

What I ReadYour Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa

Find It @YCLD:  Here

What It's About: Sunil Yapa revisits the chaos in the streets of Seattle, WA during the 1999 WTO protests.  Readers are introduced to characters on both sides of the conflict, including protesters, police, and a delegate from Sri Lanka.  The novel takes place during one fateful day of the protests, examining different aspects and viewpoints of this turbulent moment in U.S. history.

What I Thought: Yapa’s debut novel is an edge-of-your-seat, though-provoking read that gave me all the feels - horror, amazement, terror, and hope, to name a few.   Each character brings his or her own history to this pivotal moment, creating a maelstrom of emotions and thoughts that intersect and intensify their interactions with one another.  This novel is well-researched - Yapa spent time listening to audio and viewing filmed footage of the protests - and the end result couldn’t be more explosive and magnificent. 

Readalikes: The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner, Dissident Gardens by Jonathan Lethem, and Want Not by Jonathan Miles

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: