Thursday, December 3, 2015

The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz

Posted by Rebecca Brendel


Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I Read: The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz

Find It @YCLD: Here!

What It's About: This is the first book in a new continuation of Stieg Larsson's original Millennium series. It is an adrenaline-charged thriller, playing homage to genius-hacker Lisbeth Salander and journalist Mikael Blomkvist as they face an all-new dangerous threat and must once again join forces.

Late one night, Blomkvist receives a phone call from a trusted source claiming to have information vital to the United States. The source has been in contact with a young female super hacker—a hacker resembling someone Blomkvist knows all too well. The implications are staggering and build to a climax as events unfold. Blomkvist, in desperate need of a scoop for Millennium, and turns to Lisbeth for help. She, as usual, has her own agenda.


What I Thought: This is not Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The story was written well and it flowed from the start to finish; however, you need to have a good understanding of current technology and social events to follow the story. Much of the information presented is not explained to the reader or even expanded on as it moves.

As I said, this was a good read but it differs on many points from the original series. Because it is a continuation, there is no new worldbuilding or change in setting. You do get introduced to a few new buildings but only as scenery as events unfold. The introduction to the story's new characters was to me the only shining point of the story. August is an interesting character and is designed to connect many points in the story. The bad guys do somewhat the same, connecting many characters to charge this thriller.

Personally, if you would like a good story, I would add this to the list. But I will say it again, this is not Stieg Larsson’s work and does not read the same. It is neither as dark nor vivid as the original, but has its own strong points. If you are getting started with thrillers or like Scandinavian mystery-thrillers give Jussi Adler-Olsen or Jo Nesbo a try. Both authors write dark and disturbing intricate stories like the original series, and mysteries with compelling detectives.

Readalikes: Read and support the original author of the series: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Or look this book up on NoveList!

0 comments: