Thursday, November 6, 2014

House of the Rising Sun by Kristen Painter

Posted by Yuma County Library

Reviewed by: Andrew Zollman

What I ReadHouse of the Rising Sun by Kristen Painter

Find It @YCLD:

What It's About: Augustine comes back to live the perfect life in the Haven city of New Orleans.  He rarely works a real job, spends most of his nights with a different human woman, and resides in a spectacular Garden District mansion paid for by retired movie star Olivia Goodwin, who has come to think of him as an adopted son. But when Augustine returns home Olivia gets attacked by vampires, and he knows his idyllic life has comes to an end.  It's time for revenge -- and to take up the mantle as the city's Guardian. To complicate things further Olivia's estranged daughter, Harlow, arrives. She hates being fae, but her powers are exactly what Augustine needs to catch the vampires. Can he convince her to help him in time? Or will the sparks between them send her running again?

What I Thought: Great spin off series from Mrs. Painter. However, no need to read the House of Comarre (although you will want to) to get into this world. House of the Rising Sun has plenty of action, mystery and world-building balanced by character-driven plot that makes it a great start to new series. The story starts a little bit slowly and you do grow to hate Harlow’s character at the start. However at about the 30% to 40% mark in the book, the story begins to move at a steady pace and never stagnates, and not once did I feel like I encountered the information dumps that plague some paranormal/urban fantasy series. A few unexpected twists lay the groundwork for a promising overarching storyline that made me feel like the ending came too soon. I am still looking forward to the second book, City of Eternal Night (Crescent City, #2).

Readalikes: Allison Pang – A Brush of Darkness Here!

Or look this book up on NoveList!